Open Access Data:
How to Locate Openly Available Data and Resources on the Web

Date: Sunday, August 30, 2020, 9:00PM – 10:30PM – Israel time
Time: 9 pm IST, 3 pm EST, 7 pm GMT (for more time zones – click here)
Duration: 1.5 hour
Contact: international@macam.ac.il
Platform session: Zoom (click here for directions)

Abstract:

In this webinar, we will introduce the issue of Open Access Agenda. We will learn how to locate quality academic information free of charge. We will discuss the new trend of Open Data, especially Open Government Data, as well as some educational initiatives such as Open Course Ware and MOOC.
Finally, and most importantly – special focus will be given to the COVID-19 effect on open access materials.

Lecturer​

Dr. Riki Greenberg​

Biography:

Dr. Greenberg holds a Ph.D. degree in Information Science from the Department of Information Science at Bar-Ilan University, Israel. She works as a reference and IT librarian at the University of Haifa’s Younes and Soraya Nazarian Library in Israel. She has been a qualified lecturer in information science and technology for the last 15 years, and is also employed as a teacher at the Western Galilee Academic College. She is a member of the editorial board of Israel’s journal of information science, Meidaat, a special consultant for the Ministry of Education’s Electronic Books Project, and a winner of the Finkler Award for special research in information science.
Dr. Greenberg has published articles in English and in Hebrew in peer-reviewed journals. Her main research interests include information behavior, information search, digital log analysis, academic libraries, and students’ information needs.​